The Survival Guide

Whilst constantly struggling with the bounce effect of the Wooting Bird looking succesful in my animation, I decided one early Monday morning to take refuge inside the Animation Survival Guide, praying that there would be some helpful information that I hadn’t already considered/attempted. I began, where I began in first year. At page one. Bizarrly, I have a fascination with the introduction to this guide, it’s strangely terrifying and motivating at the same time.

I know that animating a bouncing ball was one of the, or, actually the first University Animation Task those years ago in first semester (back when I had just learnt to cook shepards pie succesfully – for some reason those memories blend together).

Starting at page 36 is where the magic truly begins “it’s all in the timing and spacing.” In which the depiction of a bounding ball is shown frame by frame and the overlapping and timing is mapped out superbly. It isn’t until p.56 that I started to get a resemblance onto where I was going wrong, how the spacing of the inbetweens can affect the outcome and dividing the frames equally can have a profoundly negative effect on the animation alongside the extremes (p. 52).

In page 94, the bounding ball is depicted explicitely with a sequence of drawings exploring where the ‘contact’ should be, and where it shouldn’t be. When the ball lands on the ground, the force causes if to compact, this gives it more life. Meaning that when it uses the momentom to move onwards and upwards, the speed of the knteracrion withthe surface causes it to warp and strech  more quickly then it landed (by drawing the frame slightly higher than the point of contact).

After studying all this and doing my own quick practices, ( https://youtu.be/HPc-yCyc9pk ,  https://youtu.be/rBCuAdUu8nU ) I’ll give the animated bird another go. Hoewever, I believe my problem lives mostly in the speed in which the bird shoots off the ground (there’s not enough spacefor the necessary frames required, perhaps?)

Leave a Reply

